Well done Gibbo!

Full report to follow, but 57 boats (wow!), great hospitality, a short AGM and some cracking sailing.

Robin Kirby wins the Silver fleet, securing his place in the Gold fleet for the next 2 years.



From Yachts and Yachting - courtesy of Alex Collins


Weird and 'not so wonderful' conditions greeted the competitors for the 2015 Supernova Inland Championship at Northampton Sailing club on the 5th of September. Light but shifty conditions were also accompanied by freak gusts and big holes, which was at the very least, tough for the sailors.

As the morning went on, more and more sailors arrived and before long, an incredible 57 Supernovas turned out for the event. After a briefing by the clubs commodore and the race officer the competitors got their boats rigged and headed out to face the ever-changing conditions.

Race 1

The first race of the inlands saw Mr Consistent Mike Gibson lead straight from go. The Master showed the rest of the fleet how to do it by rounding the first mark in the lead and holding that position right to the finish. The usual suspects were at the front of the fleet in the changeable conditions with Tim Hand taking a 2nd and Alex Collins a 3rd with the likes of Andy Flitcroft, Matt Biggs and Gavin Young following closely behind.

Race 2

Gibson again showed the whole fleet how it's done, by leading from start to finish with blistering pace and height. National champion Cliff Milliner recovered from a slow start to take 2nd behind Gibson after a fight with Collins and Mike Critchley throughout the first few legs. The true competitiveness of the event was becoming clear as there were battles throughout the fleet, which made for some truly exciting racing.

Race 3

After a great lunch provided by Northampton's galley staff, The sailors headed out for the 3rd race of the day. Straight away, Duncan Adams (who turned up during lunch) sailed into the distance as other sailors tried their hardest to stay in contact. Tim Hand, the Critchley brothers and Alex Collins were found to be, as usual, at the top of the fleet. Gibson incurred a penalty at the first mark and after winning the first two races of the day, found himself back in 10th place. Hand had a coming together with a lump of weed on the last beat and despite stopping dead in the water and dropping to 5th, he still managed to gain back 2nd place at the finish ahead of the fast mark 1 of Alex Horlock in 3rd, Tony Critchley in 4th and Collins in 5th.

Race 4

The start of race 4 saw Gibson and Critchley lead the fleet around the first mark ahead of Collins, Hand and Ian Horlock. Up the 2nd beat, Collins was able to play the middle of the beat to come out ahead of the fleet where he was chased down by the rest of the competitors. The next 2 laps saw very close racing as the likes of Critchley and Gibson battled to try and pass Collins but he was able to hold it to the line. Critchley took 2nd ahead of Gibson in 3rd, Hand in 4th and Horlock in 5th.

Race 5

The first race of the day was run in light and relatively shifty conditions amongst bright sunshine. Mike Gibson lead out of the blocks to lead around the first mark followed by Alex Horlock in his mark 1, Alex Collins and Mike Critchley. On the downwind Horlock was passed by Critchley and Collins who was by this time fighting to gain an overlap at the next mark. As the leaders approached the mark, Gibson made a mistake and went the wrong way, which enabled Collins to gain the lead. From that point on, the race was led by Collins who covered Gibson until the line. Behind them, Tim Hand had gained several places to finish 3rd, Mike Critchley took 4th and Iain Horlock finished just ahead of his brother in 5th.

So with 1-point difference going into the final race It was a straight fight between Gibson and Collins for the overall event win.

Race 6

Pre race, Collins followed his competitor to make sure he stayed near him for the start, but a mistake meant that when the start gun went, Collins was on the tail of Gibson straight away. Approaching the first mark, Gibson lead the front runners who included Hand, A Horlock, Andy Flitcroft, Ray Workman and Collins. As the race progressed, Collins tried everything to catch up to Gibson, but the Master sailed a perfect race to gain another race win and with it, the event. Behind him, Workman took a brilliant 2nd, Hand 3rd, A Horlock 4th and Collins 5th.

So after 2 days of full-on racing for the whole fleet, Mike Gibson was crowned the inland champion ahead of Alex Collins and Tim Hand. This was Mike's 4th time as champion, having previously won the event from 2008-2010. A big well done to Mike who is certainly having a good year with incredible pace and consistency, also a big well done and thank you is due to all the competitors who turned up for the event and also for the classes AGM which followed it.

The final thank you goes to Northampton Sailing Club for, as always, putting on a great event. The welcoming atmosphere and truly great organisation meant that the event went ahead without any problems in difficult conditions, so the class says a big thank you to all those involved.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoHelmClubR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1st1127Mike GibsonBartley11‑93218
2nd1125Alex CollinsBolton33‑511513
3rd1130Tim HandSutton‑in‑A SC2‑6243314
4th1079Cliff MillinerCotswold SC726‑1281134
5th1094Mike CritchleyBolton‑22410241636
6th631Alex HorlockExe SC10‑133136436
7th1074Tony CritchleyBolton11114612‑2444
8th1092Iain HorlockExe SC14‑267514646
9th1104Gavin YoungCotswold SC69‑20791546
10th1071Andy FlitcroftBolton4191395(OCS)50
11th1049Matt BiggsBlithfield515118‑321453
12th1110Robin KirbyCotswold121615‑2410861
13th1133Steve HawleyBartley912‑331913962
14th1109Ray WorkmanCotswold SC25‑40121418271
15th582Alan BishopGirton SC‑312917157775
16th1100Chris HawleyBartley138162019‑2176
17th1073Matt WilliamsCotswold SC165231720‑3381
18th1060Paul UndrellHavershan SC872416‑393085
19th1078Garry ButterfieldBartley2718251811‑2999
20th1129Chris WilliamsCotswold SC20241421‑2522101
21st1124Paul EarnshawHavershan SC2310811(DNF)DNS103
22nd1123Jon PebodyHunts SC21171826‑3823105
23rd1121Steve JohnsonCotswold SC19‑2519232225108
24th703Brian SmithBowmoor SC34‑3622271519117
25th1082Tom ChadfieldBlithfield1539272217(DNF)120
26th1077Kevin LastAttenborough24203130‑3517122
27th1052Phil DaviesScammonden Water SC‑362121252926122
28th649Anthony BleasdaleGurton SC3334‑45361613132
29th10XDuncan AdamsAttenborough SC(DNC)DNC110DNC12139
30th1087Mike WalkerBowmoor SC1730342831‑35140
31st1134Tom BaldwinCarsington1831‑52482618141
32nd705Richard LambertBlue Circle SC3522303733‑41157
33rd1068Pete BinghamBowmoor SC‑491446343434162
34th1059Chris WattsBough Beech SC26413635‑4427165
35th1093John WalpoleExe SC3927283141(DNC)166
36th1090Iain BarlowAttenborough SC293743‑462138168
37th613Mike MalcolmHavershan SC‑403329334037172
38th1153Paul BloomSnettisham Beach38352642‑4939180
39th10David ScottElton SC465153(DNC)2410184
40th1057Ian CasewellReading SC45‑5039442828184
41st1037Brian PitmanHuntingdon‑442840433743191
42nd1156Rob CornerAttenborough SC43‑4937294736192
43rd1139Sam HoodCotswold SC304532‑474540192
44th494Keith JohnsonGirton SC3246‑49394631194
45th1135Gordon TweedleHavershan SC‑545444522720197
46th1141Robert HillsCotswold SC‑533850413046205
47th639Patrick RohartWelwyn GC4132‑48404844205
48th684D BexsonAttenborough SC28‑5247385047210
49th598Serena StewardsonEmberton Park SC5123‑54514249216
50th1022Don AppletonBartley424441(DNC)5145223
51st1091Shaun SmaleWelwyn GC SC48423850‑5248226
52nd706Marcus ShawGirton SC50533532(DNC)DNC228
53rd679Stephen BlairUlley‑524351494342228
54th1097Richard Fairbrother (DNC)DNCDNCDNC2332229
55th1099Peter HouseleySutton‑in‑A SC37474245(DNC)DNC229
56th1086David HallHaversham4748555336(DNC)239
57th707Ian WhiteEmberton Park SC5555‑56545350267

Go back