The Beat and how to Point, or not as in my case..

Tuning the Supernova Dinghy

The Beat and how to Point, or not as in my case..

Postby ChrisB » Fri Jun 18, 2021 5:27 pm

I am relatively new to the class. I'm having a great time learning to sail the boat.

My Club have added Sprint racing to the calendar. 15 minute long pursuit style, heavily reliant on a good start, good lines and positioning at the marks.

This has highlighted an issue I have with pointing. The races are too short for me to make up ground on the other legs.

I find the Supernova to be very sensitive upwind.

I understand that it cannot point as high as a Laser, relying on speed to generate apparent wind and lift. I have found that transitions and mark rounds need to be exited low to build speed before heading up to point.

I keep the boom at or just outboard of the quarter and don't pinch. Despite this I find that I am still pointing low and slow on the course.

I can find speed by heading lower with the boom a handbreadth outboard, but this takes me even further away from those I'm racing.

I haven't sailed with another Supernova so I don't know how high I should expect to point, or whether there is a sail setting I am missing.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Chris 1068
ChrisB

Re: The Beat and how to Point, or not as in my case..

Postby Pete1177 » Sun Jun 20, 2021 1:53 pm

Hi Chris,