New owner basic questions

Tuning the Supernova Dinghy

New owner basic questions

Postby Riverwatcher » Sun Dec 22, 2019 10:09 am

I am new to the Supernova class and have just bought a very nice Mk2e. I have been doing some basic measurements, as per the advice on the website, although there seems to be a fair amount of variation, depending on which bits you read. My mast is currently at 1100, although it would appear that many use 1120. Which is best.
I then tried measuring mast rake. With the shroud pins on the bottom hole, I can get a reasonable rig tension at 6050, as suggested. But when I try raking the mast to the suggested 5930 for medium winds, the shrouds are virtually slack, and at 5830, they are so loose that I would be worried about the heel jumping out of the step. Are my shrouds too long, am I missing something, or do people really sail with their shrouds completely slack in heavy weather?
Riverwatcher

Re: New owner basic questions

Postby Pete1177 » Tue Dec 24, 2019 2:09 pm

Hi

If you are a current class member then you can download my Tuning and Sailing Guide PDF from the technical section of the website. This is aimed at new Supernova owners in particular, and covers setting up the boat and sailing it.

There is some conflicting (older) information on the website and we have plans to overhaul the technical content. The generally accepted settings for mast rake is 6100mm (fully upright) to 5900mm (fully raked). If you set to 5850 then the mast could become unstepped, although you should set your safety leash to be tight on this rake (everything slack) so this can't happen.

6050mm is the 'default' mast rake, but you can go more upright (more rig tension) in light winds. The usual shroud length is 4000mm.

Hope this helps.

Pete
SN1177
Class Secretary
Pete1177

Postby Riverwatcher » Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:25 pm

Pete,